RSS Feed

The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier- #IMWAYR

2015/01/img_49181.jpg

Thank you Jen at Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee & Ricki at Unleashing Readers for hosting It’s Monday! What are you Reading? Readers across the blogging community share their latest reading experiences, opening new possibilities for sharing the impact of books on our lives.

18405537

I have finally had the time to finish The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier.  Once again, my son started it with me and finished it before me. I mean, lights-on-at-night-when-you-are-supposed-to-be-sleeping kind of reading. Kid-tested, parent-approved.

Teachers- if you are looking for a mentor text for teaching students how to spin a story or weave a web of tales together, The Night Gardener is the book for you.  Part of the draw is its creepiness.  The kids who are reading ghost stories and vampire tales that you wish would read something with a little more literary merit will perk up when they see the cover of this book.  Molly and Kip are two children trying to make their way in the world without their parents.  They find work as servants with a family of four: Bertrand & Constance Windsor and young Alistair and Penny. Something sinister is at work through, and the family- along with Molly and Kip- falls further into despair and ruin.Memorable characters and an ancient curse keep the pages turning.  Storytelling is valued and plays a big role in the book.  The characters learn powerful lessons about what can happen when selfishness and greed take over.

Jonathan Auxier has a gift for bringing readers into his stories and taking them on a memorable journey.  I enjoyed learning more about him through his website, including this little gem for us as readers and writers.  “Whenever I start a new book, I try to put together a soundtrack that makes me feel the way I want the story to make me feel. It’s a valuable tool, because at some point I become sick of my own book, and the songs help remind me what I’m aiming for.” (Auxier)  The soundtrack for The Night Gardener can be found here. I’m always fascinated by the process by which authors create mood and tone, and Auxier is the first I have found to share examples of using a soundtrack as part of his creative process. I’m putting Auxier’s Peter Nimble and his Fantastic Eyes on my list to read next.

I can’t wait to hear how this book speaks to you and your students!  The book is in your court…

7 responses »

  1. Oh-this is one of those books I started this summer. Then school started and it just sat in my reading room. (I took over a sitting room in our house and filled it with books.) Then, after grad class finished in the fall, I finished it in two sittings! I wish I could convince my son to read it! The weaving, as you mentioned, is so powerful! If my son won’t read it, I’m taking it to my mom!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Wow. This sounds really good. I love great story telling. On my “to buy” list!

    Lisa
    LisaTeachR’sClassroom

    Like

    Reply
  3. I just adored this book. I can’t figure out how you could put it down once you have started it. Peter Nimble and his Fantastic Eyes is on my 2015 to read list.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I completely agree with you, The Night Gardener is a terrific book! You hit the nail on the head: “Auxier has a gift for bringing readers into his stories and taking them on a memorable journey.”

    Like

    Reply
  5. This title is on my TBR list. (As are many other books!!) I have heard amazing things and now, with this post, more amazing. Got to get to it! Maybe I will read it aloud to my children. Thinking we would all enjoy it.

    Like

    Reply
  6. This sounds good, but a bit too creepy for my 10 year old. He liked Hunger Games and Percy Jackson, but I don’t think he’d like ghosts!

    Like

    Reply
  7. I know what you mean about this novel – fell in love with this last year – love how lyrical the writing is, and how the parallels are between make-believe and lies and how stories can transform people – definitely one of my favourite reads.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

EduTechnicallySpeaking

Where our nerdly proclivities interact with our Education prowess.

Crawling Out of the Classroom

As I begin a year of transformation as a teacher, I am attempting to break down the four walls of my classroom to reach out to others and connect about the incredible world of education.

TEaCHitivity

teach with creativity. embrace technology.

Literacy Lenses

Just another WordPress.com site

Pick of the Lit

The right book, right now.

Katherine Bomer

The Journey is Everything: Writing & Teaching to Discover, to Essay, to Live Wide Awake

The Golden Age of Education

Highly Effective Tools and Strategies

Teaching Thinking

It's what our world needs now.

EDnado 2016

Taking Education By Storm

