RSS Feed

#MustReadin2015

#MustReadin2015 is a personal challenge to commit to reading the books you choose this year.  Anyone is welcome to join in!  Visit creator Carrie Gelson’s site here for more information and for links to other #MustReadin2015 book lists. 

It’s taken a while to whittle this list down, but I wanted to be very selective with my #MustReadin2015 picks!  I hope you find some great titles to add to your reading lists!

Nonfiction

I’m trying to read more nonfiction this year, and these books come highly recommended by our reading community.

20696727182493972196519818350733

Fiction

There are so many great titles to choose from that I went with a combination of recommendations from friends, authors I admire, and themes that spoke to me.

22749539

2240297218460392

22103725

20517379

18466252

22313641


Novels in Verse

It is also one of my goals to branch out and read more novels in verse.  I was inspired by how much I enjoyed Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson.

18263725Caminar20454083

Professional Resources

 I have a bit of an addiction to professional reading. I have discovered many of the authors below through Twitter, and I just know that their books will satisfy that craving to continue learning and growing. 59 Reasons to Write225122461791675321807024

And last, but not least,  I can’t wait to get my hands on Notice and Note for Expository Texts by Kylene Beers and Bob Probst.  I’m not sure if it will be published this year, but it will move to the top of my list when it arrives.  Here is a sneak peek of Kylene and Bob’s thinking! Since I don’t have a picture of the cover, we’ll just have to settle for this picture of Kylene, Bob, my colleagues, and me at the NCTE convention.

IMG_4162

I hope this list provides some new suggestions for you.  You are invited to continue the conversation by commenting! The book is in your court…

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: #MustReadin2015 | There's a Book for That

  2. Great, diverse list! I fell in love with verse novels this year. The Red Pencil and Caminar were titles I read and I am just about to read The Crossover. So powerful, these titles. I also love that you started with your nonfiction reads! Enjoy! Happy Reading in 2015.

    Like

    Reply
    • Carrie- I stumbled upon Kwame Alexander’s session at the State of MD Reading Conference last year. His story is so interesting, and I love the perspective that he brings to children’s literature. If you ever get to hear him speak, take advantage of it!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Great list! I am s huge fan of novels in verse, as well. Loved Caroline Starr Rose’s May B and just finished Caroline Pignat’s The Hospel Truth. Happy Reading !

    Like

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Echo by Pam Munoz Ryan- #IMWAYR | The Book is in Your Court

  5. Pingback: Must Read in 2015- Update | The Book is in Your Court

Leave a Reply

EduTechnicallySpeaking

Where our nerdly proclivities interact with our Education prowess.

Crawling Out of the Classroom

As I begin a year of transformation as a teacher, I am attempting to break down the four walls of my classroom to reach out to others and connect about the incredible world of education.

TEaCHitivity

teach with creativity. embrace technology.

Literacy Lenses

Just another WordPress.com site

Pick of the Lit

The right book, right now.

Katherine Bomer

The Journey is Everything: Writing & Teaching to Discover, to Essay, to Live Wide Awake

The Golden Age of Education

Highly Effective Tools and Strategies

Teaching Thinking

It's what our world needs now.

EDnado 2016

Taking Education By Storm

