RSS Feed

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 1-5-2015

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e1f/82090548/files/2015/01/img_4918.jpg

Thank you Jen at Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee & Ricki at Unleashing Readers for hosting It’s Monday! What are you Reading? Readers across the blogging community share their latest reading experiences, opening new possibilities for sharing the impact of books on our lives. 

I have benefited greatly from book recommendations from the blogging community.  My One Little Word for 2015 is share.  In the spirit of that OLW, I’m sharing my first round of book recommendations.   Since it’s my first time, I think it’s fitting to look back on 2014.

I’ll keep this post brief since these books are well known by our community. Had I not read your blogs  I would have missed opportunities to read books that were so good that I couldn’t put them down.  Books like We Were Liars and The Impossible Knife of Memory.  I would have missed out on the unique and beautiful language that Jacqueline Woodson spoke through in Brown Girl Dreaming. I wouldn’t have enjoyed The Night Gardener and Revolution with my eight year old. And my five year old wouldn’t have gotten to hear the true story of Ivan.  For these suggestions, and many more, I thank you, my teachers thank you, and my students thank you.

 

Favorite Young Adult Fiction of 2014:

We Were Liars by e. lockhart

We Were Liars

The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

The Impossible Knife of Memory

Favorite Middle Grade Fiction of 2014:

The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier

Revolution by Deborah Wiles

revolution

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e1f/82090548/files/2015/01/img_4922.jpg

 

Favorite Middle Grade/ Young Adult Nonfiction of 2014:

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson


BrownGirl Dreaming


JW

 Favorite Nonfiction Picture Book of 2014:

Ivan The Remarkable True Story of the Shopping Mall Gorilla by Katherine Applegate


ivan the remarkable true story if the shopping mall gorilla

 

 

In reflecting on my reading in 2014, I’ve noticed some gaps, especially in the areas of graphic novels and novels in verse.  I’ll be looking to all of you for suggestions in these areas!

 

4 responses »

  1. Brown Girl Dreaming was one of my favorite 2014 books, too. I also enjoyed Countdown, so I’m really looking forward to Revolution. I still haven’t seen the Ivan picture book. Hopefully our library will get it soon. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Great choices! I always say that I seldom read a book I don’t like because I choose the books on my TBR from a recommendation from a trusted friend in this wonderful book community! I have recently read many novels in verse – a few recommendations would be The Red Pencil, Serafina’s Promise and Libertad.

    Like

    Reply
    • Carrie, The reading community is priceless! Thank you for your novel suggestions. I have The Red Pencil on my TBR list and will be adding the others based on your recommendations.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

EduTechnicallySpeaking

Where our nerdly proclivities interact with our Education prowess.

Crawling Out of the Classroom

As I begin a year of transformation as a teacher, I am attempting to break down the four walls of my classroom to reach out to others and connect about the incredible world of education.

TEaCHitivity

teach with creativity. embrace technology.

Literacy Lenses

Just another WordPress.com site

Pick of the Lit

The right book, right now.

Katherine Bomer

The Journey is Everything: Writing & Teaching to Discover, to Essay, to Live Wide Awake

The Golden Age of Education

Highly Effective Tools and Strategies

Teaching Thinking

It's what our world needs now.

EDnado 2016

Taking Education By Storm

